The Brown Hill Keswick Creek (BHKC) Stormwater Project is a collaborative effort between the Cities of Adelaide, Burnside, Mitcham, Unley and West Torrens to mitigate significant flood risks and help safeguard properties across the catchment of Brown Hill and Keswick Creeks — which impacts each of the constituent councils.

From its inception in 2007 until February 2018, the project was conducted as a joint arrangement between the Constituent Councils. The Stormwater Management Plan was developed during this phase, leading to its subsequent approval by the Stormwater Management Authority and gazettal of its adoption in February 2017.

A condition of the Stormwater Management Authority approving the Plan was that a regional subsidiary be established within 12 months to implement the Plan and manage its works. The Brown Hill and Keswick Creeks Stormwater Board (the Board) was established in February 2018 as a regional subsidiary pursuant to section 43 of and schedule 2 to the Local Government Act 1999.

The Board is responsible for the administration of the affairs of the Regional Subsidiary and for ensuring ‘the Regional Subsidiary observes the objectives set out in the Charter, that information provided to the Constituent Councils is accurate and that Constituent Councils are kept informed of the solvency of the Regional Subsidiary as well as any material developments which may affect the operating capacity and financial affairs of the Regional Subsidiary’.

The Board is comprised of five independent members, appointed following recommendations made by a Nominations Committee of representatives from each of the Constituent Councils. Each Board member contributes a unique set of skills and experience, particularly covering:

  • Corporate financial management
  • Corporate governance
  • Project management
  • General management
  • Engineering
  • Economics
  • Environmental management

Board members are appointed for a term of three years and are eligible for reappointment at the conclusion of their term.

Judith Choate, Chairperson
Judith is a lawyer with 28 years of experience in corporate governance, risk management, project management and stakeholder issues, particularly in the property and infrastructure sectors. She currently works as a Director at KPMG Law, as well as being a Non-Executive Director on the National Board of Governors for the College of Law.

Paul Gelston
Paul is a civil engineer who recently retired as Chief Operating Officer at the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure in SA. He has over 40 years of experience in the delivery of major infrastructure projects at both State Government and Local Government level at the City of Prospect.

Geoff Vogt
Geoff has extensive experience in the financial services and insurance industries and is currently CEO of Industry Leaders Fund Inc. He is also Chairman of Centennial Park Cemetery Authority, a member of the Eastern Region Alliance Water Board, and a Director of KeyInvest. He was also previously CEO of the Motor Accident Commission in SA.

Rachel Barratt
Rachel has worked in South Australian water and natural resource management for over 20 years, in both public and private enterprise. With a Masters in Environmental Studies from the University of Adelaide, she is currently the Chief Executive of the Water Industry Alliance and has extensive expertise with stormwater management issues and stakeholder management.

Rob Gregory
Rob’s 20 year career has spanned Local and State Government in South Australia and New South Wales, typically in Management roles overseeing sustainability and natural resource management projects, including implementation of large scale capital works projects and community engagement. Rob is currently General Manager of East Waste, a regional subsidiary responsible for the management of over 20% of Adelaide’s kerbside waste.

Audit and Risk Committee

An Audit and Risk Committee was formed by resolution of the Board on 9 August 2018. Board Members Geoff Vogt, Rachel Barratt and Paul Gelston were appointed to the committee by resolution of the Board on 16 August 2018 with the Charter requiring in Section 9.6 (a) that the Chairperson of the Board also ‘serve as Chair of all committees established by the Board’. The first meeting of the Audit and Risk Committee was held on 27 August 2018.

On 18 October 2018, the Board resolved that ‘the Board appoint to the Audit and Risk Committee an independent person whose financial qualifications are endorsed by the Councils, and who is to be paid an amount equivalent to that of independent members of other Local Government subsidiary Audit Committees’. The Board subsequently resolved on 15 November 2018 to appoint Justin Humphrey of Grant Thornton as the independent member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Justin Humphrey
Justin has over 20 years of diverse experience in the accounting profession, specialising in the provision of audit and assurance services and corporate advisory. His portfolio of clients includes public listed companies, private owner­operated businesses, local government and not for profit organisations, spanning manufacturing, technology & media, consumer products & retail, education and service industries.

Owners Executive Committee

The Owners Executive Committee is comprised of a representative from each of the Constituent Councils. Meetings between the Board and the Owners Executive Committee are scheduled quarterly. Membership of the committee is as follows:

  • City of Adelaide – Klinton Devenish, Director, Place
  • City of Burnside – Chris Cowley, Chief Executive
  • City of Mitcham – Matthew Pears, Chief Executive
  • City of Unley – Peter Tsokas, Chief Executive
  • City of West Torrens – Terry Buss, Chief Executive

Meetings between the Board and the Owners Executive Group are scheduled quarterly. Prior to appointment of the Board on 3 August 2018, the Owners Executive Group also acted as an Interim Board.

Project Director

The Board appoints a Project Director who is responsible for implementing the decisions of the Board and managing the operational requirements of the project.

Peta Mantzarapis
Peta was appointed as Project Director in January 2019 following 20 years in private practice, most recently as Head of Infrastructure Advisory for JLL and prior, as Managing Director of Maloney Field Services. Peta’s professional qualifications are as a property valuer specialising in acquisition of land for infrastructure delivery. Her career experience has focussed on infrastructure projects Australia-wide across industry sectors including oil and gas, power and energy, water and drainage, mining, roads and rail, renewable energy and telecommunications.

Contact Us